Nov 9, 2010

Blue Floyd - Begins (2008)

EAC | CD Image | APE+CUE+LOG+Covers | 432+365+15 mb+3% recovery

Blue Floyd consists of Gov’t Mule bassist Allen Woody along with their drummer Matt Abts. One time Black Crowes guitarist Marc Ford, as well as, Allman Brother’s bassist Berry Oakley are also in the lineup. Johnny Neel takes over on keyboards. Their new 2008 album Begins will be released on Airline Records. It’s flat out the best bunch of covers of Floyd yet. In fact, the musicianship is so good they really transcend themselves above being just a cover band. On the two bonus tracks (Beatles songs Come Together & Taxman), Slick Aguilar, who did session work for David Crosby and Jefferson Starship, plays lead guitar. Blue Floyd’s versions of Floyd’s Fearless and Set The Controls for the Heart of the Sun are really stand out and their Hey You/Another Brick in The Wall medley is nicely haunting. The guitar sounds as if it’s actually Gilmour jamming away. Very highly recommended for all Floydians.

Disc 1:
1. HAL 9000 Intro / Shine On You Crazy Diamond
2. Have A Cigar
3. Fearless
4. Interstellar Overdrive / Wish You Were Here
5. Drums
6. Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun
7. Hey You / Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2

Disc 2:
1. In The Flesh / Sheep
2. Money
3. Us & Them / Jam
4. Young Lust
Bonus tracks:
5. Beatjam - Come Together
6. Beatjam - Taxman

Links in comments:

1 comment:

hanalex said...

Disc 1:
Disc 2:
Password: hanalex