May 5, 2011

After Shave - Skin Deep (1972)

EAC | FLAC TRACKS+CUE+LOG+Covers | 356 mb+3% recovery

The group was produced in May 1968, in Bienne, by Pierre-Alain Kessi (Pakman) (guitar and vocal) and André (Dédé) Pascal (drums), reinforced by Bruno Zuest (vocal) (future father of “QL”s bassist) and by “Noldi” (bass guitar). One of its first gig consisted in the featuring, in Spring 68, into a  pop contest organized by a Zurich magazine. Disqualified without glory with this commentary : “the group might be good if the guitarist did not use so much  distortion…”. Nevertheless, the group carried on playing the blues out of the repertoires of Cream, Hendrix, Mayall, Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple. A first single was recorded but never marketed (Look for a woman), because the group had run out of money. After different changes of line up, the group consisted in a trio in 1970, following the withdrawal of lead singer and bass guitarist, this last one being replaced by Jean-Claude Fontana (Cacou). With this new formation, the group won the famous first price in Golf Drouot in Paris in November 1970. In December 1970, Dédé decided to quit the group and was replaced by the late and regretted Rodolphe (Jötu) Baumgartner. Between 1971 and 1974 After Shave became famous, creating their own legend and repertoire. They begun touring in Switzerland, France and Germany, and experienced their first LP called “Skin Deep”. This album is now being gloriously praised in “Hard rock anthology 1968-1980” by Denis Meyer, Editions Enfer Magazine, as well as in the “Encyclopédie du hard rock des seventies” of Denis Protat, Editions Alternatives. Those two specialists repertory more than one thousand groups and records. After Shave also produced two singles. The group took on a new English singer named Barry James Brown, and a new bass guitarist, Silvano “Gugus” Paroni replaced Cacou. At that time, Pierre-Alain Kessi and his drummer Jötu had the great honour to accompany Champion Jack Dupree on his last Swiss tour... Read more
1. Skin Deep
2. Him
3. Paper Woman
4. Ride, Ride, Ride
5. Sweet Home
6. Amsterdam In My Living Room
7. Near The Sun
8. Pink Rose
9. Sunflower
Bonus tracks:
10. Greengage Man
11. On The Ground
12. One Of The Best
13. Warmaker
14. Near The Sun

Pierre-Alain "Pakman" Kessi - guitar, vocals
Jean-Claude "Cacou" Fontana - vocals, bass
Rodolphe "Jötu" Baumgartner - drums



Anonymous said...

Thanks for this share.I don´t know this one,
time to check it out.

chico said...

Can you re-up please,fantastic stuff .Wonderfull blog.
Thank you.

hanalex said...


Read here please