Aug 31, 2011

These Trails - These Trails (1973)

EAC | CD Image | FLAC+CUE+LOG+Covers | 235 mb+3% recovery

These Trails was an acid folk group who released a very rare record in 1973.  The lp was released by Sinergia and is probably one of the best Hawaiian lps along with Mu.
Prominent members of the group were Margaret Morgan (vocals, guitar and dulcimer), Patrick Cockett (guitar, slide guitar and vocals) and Dave Choy (arp synthesizer, recorder, arrangements and final mix).  Margaret Morgan handles most of the lead vocals with Patrick Cockett occasionally chiming in.  Morgan’s vocals are dreamy and ideally suited for this kind of organic music (acid folk).  Comparisons that come to mind are Linda Perhacs, though Morgan’s vocals are more innocent and angelic and the music on this lp clearly betrays a Hawaiian influence.  Many of the songs are relatively pop friendly; this isn’t difficult, challenging music that has to be listened to closely – ie folk guitar virtuousos spinning off long, complex guitar solos or intricate passages with finely tuned arrangements – it’s not that kind of record.  The synthesizers give tracks like Of Broken Links an otherworldly sound, unlike anything you’ve ever heard.  El Rey Pescador is graced by some light sitar touches and close harmony singing. Read more
1. These Trails
2. Our House in Hanalei
3. Of Broken Links
4. El Rey Pescador
5. Psyche I & Share Your Water
6. Hello Lou
7. Rusty's House & Los in Space
8. Psyche II
9. Sawed a Seed
10. Rapt Attention
11. Waipoo
12. Garden Botanum

Patrick Cockett - guitar, slide guitar, tabla, vocals
Margaret Morgan - guitar, dulcimer, vocals
Dave Choy - recorder, ARP synthesizer

Password in comments