Sep 2, 2011

Generál - Aranyalbum 1971-1975 (1993)

EAC | CD Image | FLAC+CUE+LOG+Covers | 332 mb+3% recovery

Although General’s official year of birth is 1971, several members had played together since 1967. Originally band comprised of Istvan Akos (guitar, vocals), Janos Karascony (guitar, vocals), Gabor Novai (bass), Matyas Varkonyi (piano and flute), Lajos Rech (piano), Andras Pota (drums), Sandor Revesz (vocals) plus three female backing singers: Magdi Body, Annamaria Herczku and Eva Varszegi, collectively known as Mikrolied.
General made its official debut in summer of 1972 with several TV appearances, which quickly catapulted them to national, and then – international stardom. By 1975 General became a true East European star and was voted ‘Band of the year’ in homeland. All their albums were widely sold across the Europe and achieved ‘gold’ status in Hungary. General also was the first East European band to top charts in Western Europe – actually in Holland with ‘Everybody Join Us’ single in 1975.
By that time band had already lost two of its vital formative members: Karascony (left to Locomotiv GT) and Revesz (became a new singer in Piramis). However, General managed to re-group and move forward to even bigger success. Opened for American band War (former Eric Burdon protégés) in West Germany and Britain in 1977, then embarked on USA tour (including Los Angeles festival appearance) the next year.
General went through numerous personnel changes: apart from loss of Karascony and Revesz, Akos and Rech had also left by 1975. In came Karoly Pachari (guitar, 1975, left by 1978), then in 1976 – Tibor Tatrai (guitar), Janos Solti (drums, replaced Andras Pota) and Karoly Horvath (vocals). Solti was the second to leave for Locomotiv GT in late 70s to be replaced again by Pota. Backing singers were also coming and going. Body-Herczku-Varszegi line-up survived until 1975, then Body was replaced with Edit Szigeti. All three were dropped by 1978 in favour of only two new singers: Zsuzsa Cserhati and Judith Szanti. Disbanded in 1979.
1. Kövér a Nap
2. Szép dal
3. Pofon
4. Ha ismerném
5. Fűrész
6. Kérdés
7. Felelet
8. Szélkakas
9. Törökméz
10. Lehajtott fejjel
11. Százéves kút
12. Neked szól
13. Lopom a napot

14. Ének a toronyból
15. Messze szálljon


No comments: