Dec 20, 2012

Majority One - Rainbow Rocking Chair [The defenitive collection 1969-1971] (2005)

EAC | CD Image | FLAC+CUE+LOG+Covers | 358 mb+3% recovery

 On some obscure releases of the early '70s, Majority One wrote and recorded material in the manner of some of the more foppish late-'60s British psychedelic pop, though the style had been out of fashion for a couple of years or so. The group evolved out of the U.K. band the Majority, who issued eight singles on Decca between 1965 and 1968 without reaching the British charts. After a lot of personnel turnover and a spell backing British singer Barry Ryan, the group moved to France and issued one final single as the Majority, "Charlotte Rose," though this was only released in some European territories. In 1970, still based in France, they changed their name to Majority One, issuing a few singles in 1970 and 1971 and a self-titled album in 1971, though the latter only came out in France and Holland at the time. With some similarities to the more lightweight efforts of the late-'60s Beatles, Bee Gees, and Moody Blues, Majority One's efforts passed unnoticed in their homeland, though their 1971 single "Because I Love" made the Top 20 in Holland, also becoming a hit in Italy and Brazil. Majority One also released some tracks under the names Black Label and Rocky Cabbage, but disbanded in the summer of 1971. Much of the material issued by Majority One, including some of the tracks released under the names the Majority, Black Label, and Rocky Cabbage, was assembled for the 2006 CD compilation Rainbow Rockin' Chair: The Definitive Collection 1969-1971.
1. Get Back Home
2. A Hard Days Night (Beatles cover)
3. Friday Man (alt. version)
4. A Cigarette, A Cup Of Tea
5. Because I Love
6. Charlotte Rose [as The Majority]
7. Rainbow Rocking Chair
8. Depths Of My Mind
9. Glass Image
10. Don’t Mind The Rain
11. Letter From The Queen (previously unissued)
12. I See Her Everywhere
13. Looks Like Rain
14. Love Came Today
15. Feedback
16. No Matter What (Badfinger cover) [as Black Label]
17. Freedom [as Rocky Cabbage]
18. Birds Must Learn To Fly [as Rocky Cabbage]

Barry Grahem (Barry Wigley) - lead vocals
Bob Long - rhytm guitar & vocals
Wally Andrews - bass guitar
Peter Mizen - lead guitar & vocals
Chris Kelly - drums & vocals



George Dimakis said...

Great blog!
Just discovered it!

Deassis Medeiros said...

Great blog, password? Thanx!

hanalex said...

@Deassis Medeiros

Password here: